Home » About the society » SLGS Committee

SLGS Committee

To contact any of the officers of the society, please use the links on the Contact us page

Simon Garbutt

Membership Secretary
Carole Smith

Programme Secretary
Sharron White

(position vacant)

Tony Litchfield

Committee members
Gerald Blacoe, Ursula Cholmeley, Steffie Cooper, Colin Ward


We would like to warmly welcome the latest member of our Committee: Carole Smith, who kindly volunteered to take over as Membership Secretary in March 2014.


Volunteers are welcome to contact any committee member to discuss joining the committee at any time during the year. The meetings are infrequent and informal – and the duties, especially for a newcomer, are rarely onerous!

Applications to join the committee can also be made at the Annual General Meeting in January. Formal nominations for new members of the committee should be sent to (and received by) the Membership Secretary, Carole Smith, within a month of (and not less than fourteen days before) the AGM. Before formally proposing a member for the committee, please ask them for permission.

Jackie Searl resigned as Membership Secretary in March 2014. We would like to thank her for two years of dedicated work in this rôle and especially for her work in updating our Constitution. Our thanks also go to Audrey Barclay, who had formerly served as the society’s Secretary, and who resigned from the Committee at the AGM in January 2014 because of family commitments. The post of Secretary is still vacant.